Nerve block #3

My nerve pain was pretty terrible this last week.  I had the attention span for playing candy crush and listening to podcasts.  I still ran errands and did essential tasks, but my mood was bad and I was exhausted.  I took a lot of naps.

I went in today for Nerve Block #3.  It went well.  I’m planning to get these every 3 months.  The doctor said she’d do it more often if need be.  I told her the biggest difference I’ve noticed is that I’m able to read again.  I went from reading only comics and articles in 2016 to reading seven novels so far in 2017.  (I still read comics and articles, but now can read novels again too. I just checked my Goodreads account; and I’ve read 9 novels as of today).

The doctor had a resident with her again, and she explained everything she was doing. I think the combination of listening to her explain the details, and the fact that I had a vasovagal reaction last time, made me a little nervous. But I did OK and only had to lay there for a couple of minutes before I could get up and go. The whole thing was fast and pretty easy. I felt sort of euphoric; my pain lowered dramatically and it was easier to breathe.  Since my pain is often in my nose and mouth, it can be hard to take a full breath, and albuterol doesn’t always help.

The resident said that my case was the most interesting one of the day.

I am waiting for the headache to come, the one that follows after the nerve block and lasts all night. My mouth hurts but so far, no terrible headache. I think it’s just on the edge though. I bought a bunch of popsicles and plan to keep eating them.

Leave a Reply

