A miracle

My doctor today was a new one, a middle-aged Indian woman whom I liked immediately. She asked me quite a few questions about my facial pain. She said she doesn’t do trigeminal nerve injections– she does infraorbital ones, which was the ordered procedure from my PA (physician’s assistant at the headache clinic). She wasn’t sure if that is the kind of pain I have, wasn’t sure this nerve block would help, and asked if I wanted to go ahead anyway. I said yes.

b9781437705805000200_f020-002-9781437705805
[picture of the infraorbital nerve, which runs below the eye and to the side of the nose.]

My face relaxed and went numb as the lidocaine took effect. I had an immediate response where tears ran down my face in an immense feeling of relief.

Nerve pain has been my constant, wailing demon baby companion for someething like 13 years. The baby stopped wailing and went to sleep.

This means it’s likely not my trigeminal nerve after all: it’s the infraorbital nerve.

She said because the nerve is being injected, the pain may flare up for a day or two before the block starts to work.

I cannot overstate how amazing this appointment was.

Leave a Reply

